Skip to main content

Book Review: The Healer's Daughter

The Healer's Apprentice

Goodreads.com Description: 
Rose has been appointed as a healer's apprentice at Hagenheim Castle, a rare opportunity for a woodcutter's daughter like her. While she often feels uneasy at the sight of blood, Rose is determined to prove herself capable. Failure will mean returning home to marry the aging bachelor her mother has chosen for her—a bloated, disgusting merchant who makes Rose feel ill.

When Lord Hamlin, the future duke, is injured, it is Rose who must tend to him. As she works to heal his wound, she begins to understand emotions she's never felt before and wonders if he feels the same. But falling in love is forbidden, as Lord Hamlin is betrothed to a mysterious young woman in hiding. As Rose's life spins toward confusion, she must take the first steps on a journey to discover her own destiny

My Rating:

I really enjoyed this book. I considered my glass half full because the book was an easy read with a lot of great imagery that brought out the 1300s and midevil living. I love reading about the flowing dresses, heroic knights, castles, secrets and the notion of true love's first kiss.

 There's an element of mystery to the book that I loved. Rose is an innocent young woman is also very smart. She lives in a part of the castle, learning how to be a healer from a woman who took her in as a child to teach her. The author does a great job of subtlely letting you know there's more to the story than Rose knows but doesn't relieve too much. The princes who Rose describes in the first couple pages had me intrigued. They sound so regal, I couldn't help but imagine who would play them in movies. I picked Chris Hemsworth for Lord Hamlin and Scott Caan for Rupert.


Nice ehh??

Anyway what was I talking about? Oh yes, the books.

There's a mystery involving Lord Hamlin's betrothed, a woman whose life has been threatened by a conjurer and whose parents have kept her in hiding for years. Lord Hamlin's mission is to find the conjurer to secure his bethrothed safety before they can marry.

Rose meets the two princes because Lord Hamlin is injured and she doctors his wounds. They become friends and soon enough, Rose falls in love with him. How could she not? But his brother, Rupert, also falls in love with Rose.

I wish I talk more about the book, but to do so would give too much away so I will just let you find out for yourself. Read this book if you love the mid evil period  mystery, a little make believe and a good love story. It was wonderful because it would truly a love story that had a happily ever after ending.

The reason this book didn't get a full glass rating is because, unbeknownst to me when I started it, it's a Young Adult book. Which pretty much just means there were just pecks on the cheek when what you reall want are passionate scenes. If this were a "smut novel" as my hubs calls them, there would have opportunities for some really steamy encounters ;) The young adult version means it was a little watered down for my taste, which made scenes seem a bit boring to me when otherwise, they could have been pretty exciting.



Comments

  1. This sounds really good! I'm going to have to add it to my "to-read" list. Thanks for sharing! :)

    -Logan

    ReplyDelete
  2. Any book where you can imagine Chris Hemsworth as the leading character ... yes please!

    Lanaya
    www.raising-reagan.com

    ReplyDelete
  3. A few of my friends have read this and liked it too. I'll have to go grab it and start reading! Thanks for sharing.

    Oh and did I ever send you my button for the swap this month? Let me know what you need!

    ReplyDelete
  4. This sounds like a good one I want to check out. I'm actually a sucker for the YA books.

    ReplyDelete
  5. Argh! I was so intrigued and just about to PIN this book....but young adult? I need the soft-porn version..... :-)

    ReplyDelete
  6. I love all of your book reviews! Thank you for sharing :))

    ReplyDelete

Post a Comment

Popular posts from this blog

Book Review: The Turn of the Key by Ruth Ware

Ruth Ware always delivers when it comes to interesting and layered characters. The Turn of the Key is a thrilling account of Rowan Caine's experience as a live-in nanny in a luxurious smart home unlike anything she has ever seen. This mystery is the epitome of the saying "if it's too good to be true, it probably is" because even though moving into the home of the Elincourts is an upgrade from her tiny apartment and dead-end job, it comes at a steep price. Every chapter, there is something suspicious that kept me wondering if anyone in this suspenseful book was telling the truth. Which, is obvious in the first page because Rowan is writing a letter to a lawyer, from jail, because she's being held for murder. Who is Rowan? Did she come into the Elincourt's lives for a reason? She should have known something was wrong on the day she interviewed, when one of the children warned her to never come back. With a house full of surveillance cameras and parents who ar

Historical Fiction Recommendations

View this post on Instagram A post shared by Jennifer 📚 (@thats_what_she_read) on Jul 12, 2019 at 4:01pm PDT Raise your hand if you’re in the mood for a great  #historicalfiction  ! ⁣ randomhouse   #partner ⁣ } ⁣ The last HF I read was  # Montauk  by Nicola Harrison. It was a nice vacation! ⁣ ⁣ Here are the next two that are on my list: ⁣ TIME AFTER TIME By Lisa Grunwald (out now)⁣ A magical love story, inspired by the legend of a woman who vanished from Grand Central Terminal, sweeps readers from the 1920s to World War II and beyond. ⁣ On a clear December morning in 1937, at the famous gold clock in Grand Central Terminal, Joe Reynolds, a hardworking railroad man from Queens, meets a vibrant young woman who seems mysteriously out of place. Nora Lansing is a Manhattan socialite whose flapper clothing, pearl earrings, and talk of the Roaring Twenties don’t seem to match the bleak mood of Depression-era New York

Book Recommendation: How We Disappeared by Jing-Jing Lee

Book Recommendation:  How We Disappeared by Jing-Jing Lee What it's about:  A beautiful, stunningly ambitious novel set in Singapore about a woman who survived the Japanese occupation and a man who thought he had lost everything. For fans of Min Jin Lee's Pachinko and Georgia Hunter’s We Were the Lucky Ones. Singapore, 1942. As Japanese troops sweep down Malaysia and into Singapore, a village is ransacked, leaving only two survivors and one tiny child. In a neighboring village, seventeen-year-old Wang Di is bundled into the back of a troop carrier and shipped off to a Japanese military brothel where she is forced into sexual slavery. After sixty years of silence, what she saw and experienced there still haunts her present. In the year 2000, twelve-year-old Kevin is determined to find out the truth – wherever it might lead – after his grandmother makes a surprising confession on her deathbed, one she never meant Kevin to hear, setting in motion