Skip to main content

Book Review: May We Be Forgiven by AM Homes




After reading May We Be Forgiven by A.M. Homes, I will never look at my favorite Thanksgiving side dish the same way again. 



From Goodreads:  A darkly comic novel of twenty-first-century domestic life and the possibility of personal transformation. Harold Silver has spent a lifetime watching his younger brother, George, a taller, smarter, and more successful high-flying TV executive, acquire a covetable wife, two kids, and a beautiful home in the suburbs of New York City. But Harry, a historian and Nixon scholar, also knows George has a murderous temper, and when George loses control the result is an act of violence so shocking that both brothers are hurled into entirely new lives in which they both must seek absolution.

This is one of those books where it's kind of like those links Perez Hilton posts on Facebook. You know it's probably going to be shocking and slightly scary, but you can't help but keep going. 

The main character, Harold, is a brutally honest, sad man. He's a total creep but I still loved him the entire time, even when he was acting like an ass. He falls in love with his brother's wife. When his brother ruins his family, Harold has to transform his entire life to help safe what is left. At first I thought Harold was going to totally fail. He starts finding women online to have sex with and goes into zombie mode when he's supposed to taking care of his niece and nephew. But A.M. Homes writes this book in a way that has you riveted the entire time, so even in the middle of Harold acting like a total ass, the fast paced writing and quick switching scene make sure you never lose interest. Just when you get frustrated with a character or disgusted with a situation, BOOM, it moves on to the next twist in the plot. 

So Harold finds himself suddenly divorced (he was totally bored with his wife and life anyway, he just didn't know it so it really was for the best) and now taking care of two kids and a house in the suburbs. Not to mention, his once successful brother is now in a mental institution. He's dealing with a lot of sorrow and confusion and does some questionable things that make you think he's not exactly stable himself. But then he starts to grow as a man and he does the most amazing acts of kindness for people.  He picks up a homeless girl who turns out to likely be the one who disappeared and has an Amber alert out for her. He meets a housewife on an online dating site, sleeps with her and then ends up having dinner with her and her entire family. He takes in an older couple and gives them a place to live when they are abandoned by their granddaughter. He takes his nephew on a trip of a lifetime for his bar mitzvah. 

In doing all of these amazing things for other people, Harold fixes himself without even realizing it. 

I can't remember another book whose characters were so memorizing. Harold's brother is a complete and utter psycho. He actually scared me. The two teenagers in the book are incredibly endearing and I fell in love with the way they changed Harold's life. 

This book is like one of those awesome episodes of Intervention. You know, the ones where the back story is totally riveting and then you get super pissed off at the addicted person for royally screwing over their family members...and then little by little they start recovering and at the end, you get chills when the plane takes off to rehab and then cry when the screen goes black and the little white letters tell you they've been sober for months now and have reunited with their family. May We Be Forgiven is like that. 

I found May We Be Forgiven because I read in an interview with Chelsea Handler that she recently read it. Her description of the book immediately intrigued me: 

"The first third is so serious and dark, and everyone's lives are in such disrepair. And then for it to get as funny as it got, I couldn't believe it. I love laughing alone — to know you can achieve that joy by yourself is always fun."

Chelsea Handler is pretty much me, only funnier and richer. So I knew that if she liked the book, then I would too. And she was right. I shuddered in fear and sadness and laughed my way through this book. 

Read it. 

Comments

  1. This sounds like a book I would love! Great review!

    ReplyDelete
  2. This sounds like a great book. Glad he was redeemed and not a total loss.

    ReplyDelete
  3. Great review! I will definitely be checking out this book.

    ReplyDelete
  4. Sounds like an interesting read, I love the cover, I can only think of my dad and how much he loves that kind of cranberry sauce.

    ReplyDelete
  5. This sounds really, really good. I'm going to have to put it on my list!

    ReplyDelete
  6. Adding this to my list now- I've been in the mood for dark but funny novels lately (like Jonathan Tropper's books).

    ReplyDelete

Post a Comment

Popular posts from this blog

Book Review: The Turn of the Key by Ruth Ware

Ruth Ware always delivers when it comes to interesting and layered characters. The Turn of the Key is a thrilling account of Rowan Caine's experience as a live-in nanny in a luxurious smart home unlike anything she has ever seen. This mystery is the epitome of the saying "if it's too good to be true, it probably is" because even though moving into the home of the Elincourts is an upgrade from her tiny apartment and dead-end job, it comes at a steep price. Every chapter, there is something suspicious that kept me wondering if anyone in this suspenseful book was telling the truth. Which, is obvious in the first page because Rowan is writing a letter to a lawyer, from jail, because she's being held for murder. Who is Rowan? Did she come into the Elincourt's lives for a reason? She should have known something was wrong on the day she interviewed, when one of the children warned her to never come back. With a house full of surveillance cameras and parents who ar

Historical Fiction Recommendations

View this post on Instagram A post shared by Jennifer 📚 (@thats_what_she_read) on Jul 12, 2019 at 4:01pm PDT Raise your hand if you’re in the mood for a great  #historicalfiction  ! ⁣ randomhouse   #partner ⁣ } ⁣ The last HF I read was  # Montauk  by Nicola Harrison. It was a nice vacation! ⁣ ⁣ Here are the next two that are on my list: ⁣ TIME AFTER TIME By Lisa Grunwald (out now)⁣ A magical love story, inspired by the legend of a woman who vanished from Grand Central Terminal, sweeps readers from the 1920s to World War II and beyond. ⁣ On a clear December morning in 1937, at the famous gold clock in Grand Central Terminal, Joe Reynolds, a hardworking railroad man from Queens, meets a vibrant young woman who seems mysteriously out of place. Nora Lansing is a Manhattan socialite whose flapper clothing, pearl earrings, and talk of the Roaring Twenties don’t seem to match the bleak mood of Depression-era New York

Book Recommendation: How We Disappeared by Jing-Jing Lee

Book Recommendation:  How We Disappeared by Jing-Jing Lee What it's about:  A beautiful, stunningly ambitious novel set in Singapore about a woman who survived the Japanese occupation and a man who thought he had lost everything. For fans of Min Jin Lee's Pachinko and Georgia Hunter’s We Were the Lucky Ones. Singapore, 1942. As Japanese troops sweep down Malaysia and into Singapore, a village is ransacked, leaving only two survivors and one tiny child. In a neighboring village, seventeen-year-old Wang Di is bundled into the back of a troop carrier and shipped off to a Japanese military brothel where she is forced into sexual slavery. After sixty years of silence, what she saw and experienced there still haunts her present. In the year 2000, twelve-year-old Kevin is determined to find out the truth – wherever it might lead – after his grandmother makes a surprising confession on her deathbed, one she never meant Kevin to hear, setting in motion