Featured Slider

Book Review: The Salt House by Lisa Duffy







When a family loses their youngest daughter in an unthinkable accident, how do they rebuild? 

I can't even begin to imagine. Lisa Duffy helps you understand how this family, the Kellys, can possibly live another day without their precious little girl, Maddie. Their other daughters are just as effected by the tragedy and in this book, you get to read from everyone's perspectives about how life is now that Maddie is gone. 

Jack and Hope Kelly had a lot of dreams: Jack's lobster business would grow, Hope would continue writing for women's magazines, they would rebuild their dream home in Maine with their 3 girls. When their future suddenly looks very differently, every one reacts different. Hope slips into a depression that no one can bring her out of. Jack slips further away from everyone and starts to lose his grip on the mounting responsibilities of his business and providing for his family.

I think the parts of this book that were the most powerful were when the characters were so honest and raw. The author really laid it all out there for you. I felt pride at some points on their behalves, but also shame, sadness, frustration and hope... it was quite the roller coaster. 

The best book I've read this summer. A must-read. 

Praise for The Salt House includes:

“…Duffy eloquently displays the emotional complexities of a family going through the healing process. Readers of Elin Hilderbrand or Luanne Rice will enjoy.”
-Library Journal

“[Duffy] deftly sketches the edges of grief. A poignant story of the power of faith, hope, and love to transcend loss.”
-Kirkus

“This insightful, emotionally potent debut is ideal for fans of Amy Hatvany.”
-Booklist

“… a compelling examination of grief and the way loss threatens the lives of every family member. Though all thecharacters are vivid and memorable, I am especially drawn to the younger voices as they maneuver in theuncharted wake of their parents, attempting normal lives under conditions that are anything but.”
-Jill McCorkle, NYT Bestselling author of Life After Life


-I received a copy of The  Salt House from Touchstone Publishing in exchange for my honest review. All opinions are my own. 

Show Us Your Books: May



Show Us Your Books: May Edition
with Steph & Jana


The Salt House by Lisa Duffy When a family loses their youngest daughter in an unthinkable accident, how do they rebuild? Jack and Hope Kelly had a lot of dreams: Jack's lobster business would grow, Hope would continue writing for women's magazines, they would rebuild their dream home in Maine with their 3 girls. When their future suddenly looks very differently, every one reacts different. Hope slips into a depression that no one can bring her out of. Jack slips further away from everyone and starts to lose his grip on the mounting responsibilities of his business and providing for his family.  I think the parts of this book that were the most powerful were when the characters were so honest and raw. The author really laid it all out there for you. I felt pride at some points on their behalves, but also shame, sadness, frustration and hope... it was quite the roller coaster. The best book I've read this summer. (ARC Copy, Touchstone Books) 


Hello, Sunshine by Laura Dave This super fun book was a slice of summer heaven! Sunshine Mackenzie has it all...and then in the blink of a Tweet, she doesn't. But what's interesting is how you find out that she really never had it it all. Her life as a famous chef, with a Youtube channel and a future Food Network show in the works, was all smoke and mirrors. Her husband Danny wants his wife back, before she transformed herself into the persona of "Sunshine," before she stopped being herself.  I think this book was really fun and fast-paced and the perfect book to read on the go. (ARC copy, Simon & Schuster) 

All Grown Up by Jami Attenberg - I picked this after hearing about it a lot from other Book of the Month members. I didn't hate it, but I didn't love it. I just didn't mesh with the narrator and really wanted her to "you-know-what or get off the pot." But I think the evolution of her character was the whole theme of the story so I think it made its point because she did grow alot by the end of the book.

Woman No. 17 - This book was...interesting. The first half had enough intrigue to keep me turning the pages but in the end I wasn't that interested. Lots of different characters: a mute teenager, a couple on the verge of a break up and a very strange babysitter. The mystery and weirdness of what happens when the babysitter decides to do a little "research" was unique but a little predectable and I just didn't really get it. (Hardback, Hogarth Publishing)

Into The Water-  It was good but there were a lot of things to keep track of: dead bodies, ancient witch tales, and a lot of people with some shady pasts. It was definitely creepy so I would give it a go if you like many of the other books like it (Girl on the Train, Woman in Cabin 10). 

Have you read any of these? Tell me what you think! If you are looking for a good round up of books to read, be sure to visit Steph or Jana's Show Us Your Book Link Up! 

Must Read: The 7 Husbands of Evelyn Hugo

I have to tell you about the 1 MUST READ of the Summer:  


It's not just a Summer must-read because it obviously looks stunning next to a pool or beach but also because once you dive into this story, you won't want to resurface until you've devoured every page. 


The Seven Husbands of Evelyn Hugo better be on the top of your summer to-read list. If it's not--trust me you will want to add it! It hits the shelves TOMORROW so go ahead and pre-order anywhere you get your books now. 

For those of you who have read the magic that is Taylor Jenkins Reid, you won't be surprised to hear that her newest novel is nothing short of amazing. But here's a surprise: It's totally different from anything she's written before. 

This story has the intrigue and scandal that you'd expect from anything centered around the 50s and 60s era in Hollywood but it also has much more. There's something so interesting about the sudden relationship between reporter Monique Grant and the famous actress, Evelyn Hugo. When Evelyn requests Monique out of the blue to write her biography, Monique is awestruck, suspicious and nervous. But as she listens to Evelyn tell her life story, there are many things that change for Monique. 

In hearing the struggles and various love stories from Hugo, Monique starts to untangle stories that are going on in her own heart. I just can't express how much I truly enjoyed this book. There are stories intertwined with the bigger plot that pull at your heart strings, there is a massively important theme about love, forgiveness and acceptance and major plot twists that you don't see coming...it's just an amazing story.

I love books that have several stories going on but somehow they are all linked. This book was super easy to follow- it's literally two women sitting together and talking about the past-Evelyn's storytelling is quick and to the point and it was addicting- I couldn't get enough! So many great stories about how cut throat and manipulating it was to be an actress back in those days. Add on top of that more issues that you never can fully understand if you've never been in those shoes: marriage, secrets, abuse, secret love affairs...loving someone the world thought you shouldn't... 
 
This book tackles a lot of issues but as a whole, there is one thread woven through out: Love is love... and you will love this book. 

If you've read it, send me links to your reviews on Goodreads or Amazon so I can hear what you think! Or leave your thoughts in the comments below!