Skip to main content

Book Review: The Salt House by Lisa Duffy







When a family loses their youngest daughter in an unthinkable accident, how do they rebuild? 

I can't even begin to imagine. Lisa Duffy helps you understand how this family, the Kellys, can possibly live another day without their precious little girl, Maddie. Their other daughters are just as effected by the tragedy and in this book, you get to read from everyone's perspectives about how life is now that Maddie is gone. 

Jack and Hope Kelly had a lot of dreams: Jack's lobster business would grow, Hope would continue writing for women's magazines, they would rebuild their dream home in Maine with their 3 girls. When their future suddenly looks very differently, every one reacts different. Hope slips into a depression that no one can bring her out of. Jack slips further away from everyone and starts to lose his grip on the mounting responsibilities of his business and providing for his family.

I think the parts of this book that were the most powerful were when the characters were so honest and raw. The author really laid it all out there for you. I felt pride at some points on their behalves, but also shame, sadness, frustration and hope... it was quite the roller coaster. 

The best book I've read this summer. A must-read. 

Praise for The Salt House includes:

“…Duffy eloquently displays the emotional complexities of a family going through the healing process. Readers of Elin Hilderbrand or Luanne Rice will enjoy.”
-Library Journal

“[Duffy] deftly sketches the edges of grief. A poignant story of the power of faith, hope, and love to transcend loss.”
-Kirkus

“This insightful, emotionally potent debut is ideal for fans of Amy Hatvany.”
-Booklist

“… a compelling examination of grief and the way loss threatens the lives of every family member. Though all thecharacters are vivid and memorable, I am especially drawn to the younger voices as they maneuver in theuncharted wake of their parents, attempting normal lives under conditions that are anything but.”
-Jill McCorkle, NYT Bestselling author of Life After Life


-I received a copy of The  Salt House from Touchstone Publishing in exchange for my honest review. All opinions are my own. 

Comments

Popular posts from this blog

Book Review: Where The Crawdads Sing by Delia Owens

"When two young men from town become intrigued by her wild beauty, Kya opens herself to a new life–until the unthinkable happens."

My review of Where The Crawdads Sing by Delia Owens.


This book will definitely be on my best of 2018 reading list!

This slow and steady escape in to the marshlands of the North Carolina coast in the 1960s is indulgent and memorizing. Owens takes you on two adventures: one is trying to solve the murder of a young man whose body was found at the bottom of a fire tower with no clues on how he died.

The other is the life of Kya Clark, a young girl left behind by her family and raising herself completely alone. Her skill, bravery and acute attention to the natural world that surrounds her kept my attention. Her marsh home is the only thing that she trusts and when one young man shows her compassion by visiting her and teaching her how to read, she begins to see a side of life and love that she never knew existed. As she grows up, Kya becomes one with the …

Book Review: The Perfect Couple by Elin Hilderbrand

The best book of the summer! 


Why I loved it: The setting of Nantucket is impeccably described. I could smell the salty sea air, I could taste the lobster rolls and I could hear the wave tides coming in. I loved the cast of characters. They are a motley crew of loveable and hateable characters, people I could picture being friends with and others I wanted to shove. They were introduced quickly but the fact that you get to read various points of views make the story line easy to follow. I could picture them so clearly in my mind. 
It's a roller coaster of a novel- first you think a young couple is in love and on the verge of happily ever after. They are rich, talented and envied. Hundreds of people are coming to their lavish wedding and they are the envy of everyone around them. And then there is a tragedy: the bride finds her maid of honor dead on the beach, the morning of her wedding. 
Everything starts to unravel after that point. Secrets that you WILL NOT see coming reveal the…

The Start of My 2019 Reading List

It's going to be hard to beat 2018's reading list but here is a great start! Here are just a few of the books that will be on my reading list at the beginning of this year! 




Elsey Come Home by Susan Conley, Out January 15, AA Knopf 

From the widely praised author of Paris Was the Place–a shattering new novel that bravely delves into the darkest corners of addiction, marriage, and motherhood. 



The Last Romantics by Tara Conklin, Out February 2, William Morrow 
It begins in a big yellow house with a funeral, an iron poker, and a brief variation forever known as the Pause: a free and feral summer in a middle-class Connecticut town. Caught between the predictable life they once led and an uncertain future that stretches before them, the Skinner siblings—fierce Renee, sensitive Caroline, golden boy Joe and watchful Fiona—emerge from the Pause staunchly loyal and deeply connected. Two decades later, the siblings find themselves once again confronted with a family crisis that tests the …