Book Recommendation: The Thing With Feathers by McCall Hoyle



Emilie Day believes in playing it safe: she’s home-schooled, her best friend is her seizure dog, and she’s probably the only girl on the Outer Banks of North Carolina who can’t swim.
Then Emilie’s mom enrolls her in public school, and Emilie goes from studying at home in her pj’s to halls full of strangers. To make matters worse, Emilie is paired with starting point guard Chatham York for a major research project on Emily Dickinson. She should be ecstatic when Chatham shows interest, but she has a problem. She hasn’t told anyone about her epilepsy.
Emilie lives in fear her recently adjusted meds will fail and she’ll seize at school. Eventually, the worst happens, and she must decide whether to withdraw to safety or follow a dead poet’s advice and “dwell in possibility.”
From Golden Heart award-winning author McCall Hoyle comes The Thing with Feathers, a story of overcoming fears, forging new friendships, and finding a first love, perfect for fans of Jennifer Niven, Robyn Schneider, and Sharon M. Draper.

My thoughts: 

Following along with Emilie on her journey as she learns how to cope with epilepsy and its impact on her life is heartbreaking but also hopeful. Can you imagine trying to keep such a major part of your life a secret? 

At it's core, The Thing With Feathers is a thoughtful YA book with complex characters and feel good relationships. But it also tackles some tough topics about health, insecurities and overcoming obstacles young kids shouldn't have to face alone. 

The characters are well-developed, even Emilie's dog and friends shine as secondary characters. 

This book talks about some really tough subjects but Hoyle writes with a reassurance and grace that made me want to keep reading. It's comforting knowing that YA books like exist out there to help younger generations learn how to cope and handle themselves in difficult situations. This story will surely give anyone reassurance that even in the worst of times, there is always someone, or something, to hold on, to work for and to better yourself for. 

This journey from despair to hope will definitely stick with you. 

Pick up a copy on Amazon or save it to your Goodreads List!  

Thank You HarperCollins for my copy!