Skip to main content

Book Recommendation: The Thing With Feathers by McCall Hoyle



Emilie Day believes in playing it safe: she’s home-schooled, her best friend is her seizure dog, and she’s probably the only girl on the Outer Banks of North Carolina who can’t swim.
Then Emilie’s mom enrolls her in public school, and Emilie goes from studying at home in her pj’s to halls full of strangers. To make matters worse, Emilie is paired with starting point guard Chatham York for a major research project on Emily Dickinson. She should be ecstatic when Chatham shows interest, but she has a problem. She hasn’t told anyone about her epilepsy.
Emilie lives in fear her recently adjusted meds will fail and she’ll seize at school. Eventually, the worst happens, and she must decide whether to withdraw to safety or follow a dead poet’s advice and “dwell in possibility.”
From Golden Heart award-winning author McCall Hoyle comes The Thing with Feathers, a story of overcoming fears, forging new friendships, and finding a first love, perfect for fans of Jennifer Niven, Robyn Schneider, and Sharon M. Draper.

My thoughts: 

Following along with Emilie on her journey as she learns how to cope with epilepsy and its impact on her life is heartbreaking but also hopeful. Can you imagine trying to keep such a major part of your life a secret? 

At it's core, The Thing With Feathers is a thoughtful YA book with complex characters and feel good relationships. But it also tackles some tough topics about health, insecurities and overcoming obstacles young kids shouldn't have to face alone. 

The characters are well-developed, even Emilie's dog and friends shine as secondary characters. 

This book talks about some really tough subjects but Hoyle writes with a reassurance and grace that made me want to keep reading. It's comforting knowing that YA books like exist out there to help younger generations learn how to cope and handle themselves in difficult situations. This story will surely give anyone reassurance that even in the worst of times, there is always someone, or something, to hold on, to work for and to better yourself for. 

This journey from despair to hope will definitely stick with you. 

Pick up a copy on Amazon or save it to your Goodreads List!  

Thank You HarperCollins for my copy! 


Comments

Popular posts from this blog

Book Review: Where The Crawdads Sing by Delia Owens

"When two young men from town become intrigued by her wild beauty, Kya opens herself to a new life–until the unthinkable happens."

My review of Where The Crawdads Sing by Delia Owens.


This book will definitely be on my best of 2018 reading list!

This slow and steady escape in to the marshlands of the North Carolina coast in the 1960s is indulgent and memorizing. Owens takes you on two adventures: one is trying to solve the murder of a young man whose body was found at the bottom of a fire tower with no clues on how he died.

The other is the life of Kya Clark, a young girl left behind by her family and raising herself completely alone. Her skill, bravery and acute attention to the natural world that surrounds her kept my attention. Her marsh home is the only thing that she trusts and when one young man shows her compassion by visiting her and teaching her how to read, she begins to see a side of life and love that she never knew existed. As she grows up, Kya becomes one with the …

Book Review: The Perfect Couple by Elin Hilderbrand

The best book of the summer! 


Why I loved it: The setting of Nantucket is impeccably described. I could smell the salty sea air, I could taste the lobster rolls and I could hear the wave tides coming in. I loved the cast of characters. They are a motley crew of loveable and hateable characters, people I could picture being friends with and others I wanted to shove. They were introduced quickly but the fact that you get to read various points of views make the story line easy to follow. I could picture them so clearly in my mind. 
It's a roller coaster of a novel- first you think a young couple is in love and on the verge of happily ever after. They are rich, talented and envied. Hundreds of people are coming to their lavish wedding and they are the envy of everyone around them. And then there is a tragedy: the bride finds her maid of honor dead on the beach, the morning of her wedding. 
Everything starts to unravel after that point. Secrets that you WILL NOT see coming reveal the…

The Start of My 2019 Reading List

It's going to be hard to beat 2018's reading list but here is a great start! Here are just a few of the books that will be on my reading list at the beginning of this year! 




Elsey Come Home by Susan Conley, Out January 15, AA Knopf 

From the widely praised author of Paris Was the Place–a shattering new novel that bravely delves into the darkest corners of addiction, marriage, and motherhood. 



The Last Romantics by Tara Conklin, Out February 2, William Morrow 
It begins in a big yellow house with a funeral, an iron poker, and a brief variation forever known as the Pause: a free and feral summer in a middle-class Connecticut town. Caught between the predictable life they once led and an uncertain future that stretches before them, the Skinner siblings—fierce Renee, sensitive Caroline, golden boy Joe and watchful Fiona—emerge from the Pause staunchly loyal and deeply connected. Two decades later, the siblings find themselves once again confronted with a family crisis that tests the …